Main favorites to win La Liga in 2021/2021

The Spanish football competition La Liga was founded in 1929. The Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División commonly known simply as Primera División in Spain, and also known as La Liga in English-speaking countries and officially as La Liga Santander for sponsorship reasons. The competition is the main top professional football division of the Spanish football league system.

la liga logo


Administered by the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Professional the league is contested by 20 teams. In April 1928, José María Acha, a director at Getxo, first proposed the idea of a national league in Spain. Eventually, all parties agreed to form a competition called the Primera División in 1929. Barcelona, Real Madrid, Athletic Club, Real Sociedad, Getxo, and Real Unión were all selected as previous winners of the Copa del Rey. With Atletico Madrid, Espanyol, Europa and Racing the Santander completed the field.

The lowest-placed teams at the end of each season were relegated to the Segunda División and replaced by the top two teams and a play-off winner in that division.


Checking the past seasons we see that the individual performance of the Spanish clubs results in nine clubs with a champion trophy in the cabinet.

Real Madrid had the most wins with 34 titles obtaining the first in 1932 and the last in 2020. FC Barcelona follows at the second spot. Barca won a total of 26 La Liga titles.

Defending champion

Atletico Madrid led by coach Diego Simeone won the Spanish title in the 2020 – 2021 season. They won in a thrilling battle between Real Madrid and FC Barcelona.

Atletico Madrid was strong in total, but former Barcelona player Luis Suarez played a big part in the championship for the club from the Spanish capital. 

Favourites upcoming season

For the upcoming season, Atletico is once again one of the favourites to win La Liga. Together with Real Madrid, they form the dangerous duo from Madrid.

FC Barcelona are in bad weather just before the start of the season. Cause of new La Liga regulations they must let superstar Lionel Messi go. The Argentinian is now playing for Paris Saint Germain. This means that La Blaugrana are fall behind the Madrid squads who were all stronger after last season. Barcelona only gained free players like Dutchmen Memphis Depay.

Sevilla, Valencia, Villarreal and Real Sociedad are considered to be the outsiders for a classification in the top of the league.

Best outright odds

At the sportsbook & online casino sites, we see a lot of great outright odds for the upcoming Spanish champion. Real Madrid is in the lead with a pre-season odd of x2,00. Barca is second with a x3,00 odd for becoming the next Spanish Champion.

Defending Champion Atletico is third with an outright odd of maximum x3,75 times your bet value. Sevilla is fourth: x15,00. After Sevilla, there is a huge gap, with Sociedad in fifth place worth x51,00 (!) time your bet value when winning La Liga 2021 – 2022.

Top bookmakers

The best bookmakers websites for betting on La Liga are B-win, Zodiac, William Hill and Betiton Sports. Check out the reviews on for more information about these gambling sites.

Responsible gaming

When you choose to place a prediction on La Liga there are risks involved. Try to minimize those risks by visiting review websites and check if the sportsbook is reliable. On Football Talks you can follow the La Liga games and changes of your favourite team to become champion in the 2021 – 2022 soccer season! 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *